Dave Ramsey

Life, and stuff.

Well, it’s been a while.  I still have made no progress on the bathroom vanity, because honestly, we have been REALLY busy.

Since I’m a graduate of a private college, it’s no surprise that I have student debt.  A couple months ago, someone in a small group we were attending through church told us about Dave Ramsey, and we were all like, “Whuuuuuut??” when they told us about how much debt they’d been able to pay off in a year following his program.  I went home and ordered his book online that same night, and we’ve been hooked ever since.

We got sidetracked a bit with the buying of our house and all the random fees that come with it (why does EVERY SINGLE NECESSARY SERVICE have a gigantic one-time start up fee?! Why!?  Frontier’s $150 installation fee is not cool), but last month we finally got back on track, and decided to really commit.  We’ve been using a budgeting tool and carefully tracking our spending, using cash as much as possible, cutting back any unnecessary expenses, shopping for cheaper car insurance, etc.  But a few weeks ago, I decided to get really Gung-Ho about it, and in a brief moment of insanity, I got a second job.

…Yeah.

So, I haven’t done anything house-related in the past couple weeks because I have been working every day.  My secondary job is 3 nights a week after I get done at my day job, and mornings on the weekends.  The entirety of my new paycheck will go towards paying off debt, in addition to what we’ve already been paying.  It’s been an interesting transition so far, and I’m pretty tired, but it will all be so worth it when we’re debt free.  When Anthony and I sat down to make our Debt Snowball plan, we realized how much money we’ll save each month when we aren’t making debt payments anymore, and it was astonishing.  We’ll have so much financial freedom, and such a weight off our shoulders.  We cannot wait.

People have given us a bit of grief about it, because, yeah, we aren’t going out to eat much or taking vacations or going shopping, but we don’t really care at this point.  We have a goal, and a plan, and we are laser focused on getting rid of our debt once and for all.  It will feel so amazing to be debt free, we’re willing to do the work it takes to get there.

Proverbs 22:7 says, “Just as the rich rule the poor, so the borrower is servant to the lender.”  We have no desire to be a slave to the lender (Looking at you, Department of Education!) anymore, so we’re breaking our chains and setting ourselves free.  Even just knowing that we have this goal and a concrete, manageable plan to reach it is so liberating.  I get giddy when I think about how different our lives will be without the confines of debt.  We’ve decided to sacrifice now so that we don’t have to keep sacrificing later, and we are thrilled.

So, it’ll be a bit before I finally get around to painting that vanity.  We’re still planning on painting the outside of the house this summer and hopefully putting in a proper front yard too, but for right now we don’t really have time to work on our bathroom; we’re too busy working on our future. 🙂

cea3d91ef6fc2ff25ff269a074a6ca21

*^Dave Ramsey’s motto, and now ours as well.^*

If you haven’t read Dave Ramsey’s Total Money Makeover, I highly recommend it.  It’s an easy system to follow, it makes sense, it’s inspirational, it’s possible!

Also, I realize that I sound like a stark-raving lunatic who drank the Kool-Aid, but I don’t care.  I’m a proud lunatic who is kind of obsessed with the Dave Ramsey system, ain’t no shame in this game, yo.

 

Leave a Reply

