Surprise Pumpkin Cookies

Anthony loves cookies.  And he loves pumpkin.  And he’s always whining that I never make cookies, or when I do, I make them and take all of them to work to share with everyone at the office.  He kind of has a point…I love to bake cookies.  I don’t care much for cake or cupcakes, or brownies, I’ve never attempted pie (because I don’t really like pie), but I know for a fact that I make awesome cookies.  I have one recipe that I normally stick to, but I do occasionally make new recipes that I find on Pinterest.  I found this one a while ago, and decided to make them while Anthony was gone today to surprise him.  I am a very nice wife, because I actually hate pumpkin, so these cookies are 100% for him.  The things I do for love.

Pumpkin-Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

I got all my ingredients together, then lined them all up so that I could take a picture of them.  It was precious.

ingredients

The only thing I forgot for the picture was brown sugar.  I’m sorry, brown sugar, for I have let you down.  I am ashamed.  Forgive me, won’t you?

I got all my dough mixed together, and discovered that it’s a pretty sticky consistency.

spatula

I really like this spatula.

 The recipe online calls for a dough scooper thingy, but I don’t actually own one of them, so I ghetto-improvised with an ice cream scoop and a spoon.  None of them are the same size, but, meh.  Beggars can’t be choosers!

The scoops ended up pretty ugly, but I completely blame myself and my lack of dough scooper.  Normally I’d roll the dough balls in between my hands so they’re nice and smooth and round, but since the dough was really sticky, NOPE.

So, they’re kind lumpy.

fotorcreated

But I’m proud of them nonetheless!  If Anthony likes them (and he likes just about everything, except bleu cheese), I will acquire a dough scoop and make them again, only prettier.  It is 4:19pm right now, so I will update this post as soon as he gets home to give the final verdict.

5:58pm update: he likes them!  As I suspected, they need a little more pumpkin.  Probably a little more of the pumpkin puree, and maybe a teaspoon of pumpkin spice.  I, of course, did not try them, because I hate pumpkin, but with a few revisions I’m calling this a success!

Leave a Reply

